revid: (AI Adam Hand on Head)
So the problem with not posting for a long time is that it becomes harder to post because you think "I CAN NEVER CATCH UP!"

So I won't try. :-)

The big news is that I have moved, and all that entails: sold a house, bought a house, moved (twice--long story), quit a job, got a new one, moved two cats.

I live in the Sunset District of San Francisco. Here's why I love where I live now. Got up, drank my coffee in my breakfast nook looking out at Golden Gate Park. Went to check my email in my study overlooking my koi pond and waterfall. Had to run some errands: Post Office, Library, ATM, Notary Public, pick up some fresh veggies. I was able to do all these things during a walk on a gorgeous, clear, sunny day within 6 blocks of my house. (It would have been 2 blocks except for the Library!) New job is 8 miles away -- appx. 6% of my previous commuting distance.

So, Life Is Good.
~~~~

In Not Real Life:

Gale's motorcycle accident was over a year ago, and he's back to work, finishing up a movie, so yay, it will be so nice to see his pretty face around again!

I saw Green Day 6 times this year and I love them as hard as ever. Best Live Band in the universe. And they will be on the American Music Awards on the 22nd. They will own my heart forever and ever. That is all.

Which segues nicely (in a "When Fandoms Collide" way) to my fabulous shiny new fandom toy, Adam Lambert. Adam will also be taking the stage at the AMAs, in what I have great hopes will be a "Who in fucking world is THAT?" performance for a large part of the viewing audience. "For Your Entertainment" is an electro-pop dance track -- so NOT my kind of music --but I fully expect an epic performance. His debut CD drops the following day. With the exception of 21st Century Breakdown (of course!), I can't recall the last time I was so excited for a CD. Today they released a b-side that is made of so much awesome, I can't understand why it isn't on the album. It's like Depeche Mode, only transported from the 80s to this decade...for real!



I've missed you LJ...I promise not to neglect you like this again.
revid: (AI Adam RS Snake)
Head Bitch In Charge...that's the nickname bestowed on Adam Lambert over at [livejournal.com profile] ontd_ai. I think it came from some modeling reality show, but hell, it fits him. The guy is a total alpha male. With every interview I see with him, I am more amazed with his people skills. He reads interviewers like a book and has them eating out of the palm of his hand.

The news cycle the last week has been all about the Rolling Stone cover and the "I'm gay" thing. (Next up, "Water is Wet" and "The Sky is Blue.") Fortunately, already the news cycle has started to shift to the tour and the music, and I couldn't be more excited. He is co-writing and working with some of the top producers in the biz. It sounds like there's going to be a rock/pop flavor to the album, but hell, he could release 10 Bing Crosby covers and I would buy it.

From the get go, I swore I wasn't going to shell out the bucks for the idols tour, but my resolve has flown right out the window with my dignity. We know Adam will be doing FIVE solo songs including a Bowie 3 song medley (including "Fame"), and "Starlight" by Muse. He'll also be reprising his utterly charming duet with Allison of "Slow Ride." OK, you win. I'm going, I'm going.

Here he is yesterday on his way to an interview on Access Hollywood. Not digging the new haircut, but the boy has style.


He gave a GREAT interview with (of all people) Oprah.com. I'm soooooo excited.

Q&A with American Idol's Adam Lambert
By Stephanie Snipes

From the very first note, there was no doubt Adam Lambert was bringing something new to the Idol stage. He is by far one of the most original and talented performers in the music industry today—and he has the Rolling Stone cover to prove it!

Screening Room chatted with the American Idol runner-up about life in the fast lane.
Stephanie Snipes: We simply must start by talking about the Rolling Stone cover. How amazing is that?

Adam Lambert: Wild, right? I was so honored when they asked me. It's surreal. Every time I see it on a newsstand or on someone's coffee table I'm like, "Whoa! That's me! Oh my gosh!" It's wild. It's such an honor.

Cut for long-ass but totally worth reading interview )
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So, in personal stuff, my house is still on the market. The market here is dead, dead, dead. I'm getting to the point where I'm thinking seriously about renting this place out and moving north anyway. Plus, it makes more sense to buy at the bottom of the market, and sell after it starts to rebound. I'm pretty confident I can find a job, although I'll probably have to work full-time again, at least for a while. The next six months should be full of interesting changes.

In happier news, I head up to Canada in a couple short weeks to revel in its beauty, drink gin and tonics with the lovely [livejournal.com profile] and_ed, AND WE GET TO SEE GREEN DAY. TWICE. And I get to meet (fucking finally!) [livejournal.com profile] loser_and_user!!!!!!! And hook up with a few other of my Green Day peeps! God, I can hardly wait. Yes, my life is not bad at all.

Hope the rest of you can say the same.

NaLiJoWriMo

Mar. 1st, 2009 05:51 pm
revid: (Default)
I've been sucking (to say the least) at LJ recently, so I've decided to try something different. In the spirit of NaNoWriMo, I am declaring March to be National LiveJournal Writing Month, where National is understood to mean... me. My goal is to make an entry every single day in the month of March.

I have no great plans for this. My posts will probably consist of whatever I happen to be thinking at the moment my fingers hit the keyboard. So while you shouldn't expect any deep Susan Sontag style essays, I will try to make them a bit more than "Here is my entry for today." (Although if it ever comes to that, I promise to at least post a picture of a gorgeous guy so it won't be a total waste of bandwidth.)

Today was a pleasant do-nothing day. My RE agent held an open house for a few hours while I went down to the beach and read Harry Potter #2...in español. It's taking a lot longer than English did! It may have been snowing in the deep south today, but here it was sunny and mild. It's a pain having a house for sale though. Nothing much (still) going on with that.

For this evening, I'm going to get everything ready to do my taxes tomorrow. GRRRRRRRR.

Hope everyone else has a better day planned for tomorrow. :-)

One down, thirty to go.
revid: (Default)
Wow. I only posted once in the entire month of January. I'm not sure what that was all about but I'll try to do better.

In the news that has most of my flist all atwitter: GREEN DAY! They're (coming) back! Finally. Yesterday was the official start of the revival of this long dormant fandom. I loved so much about their appearance on the Grammys last night! First, of course, was the announcement of the new CD this May, 21st Century Breakdown. I put my pre-order in last night, and my receipt order number ended in 0008. :-) The eighth person to order it! I can't tell you how excited I am for this album. The receipt also said "Street Date May 15, 2009." This doesn't make a lot of sense, since the 15th is a Friday, and all records are released on Tuesdays, so I'm guessing the "official" release date will be the 12th or 19th.

Cut for Green Day squee... )

There's been mixed news about my pretend boyfriend Gale Harold.

Cut for Gale musings... )

Random personal stuff:

I made a spur of the moment decision today to dye my hair back to brown again. I've been blonde so long that most people I know have never seen it any other way. No particular reason, just feel like it. :-)

I've decided to start going to the library at least once a month. Man does not live on fanfiction alone, you know! (And when someone asks you what you've read lately, it's nice to be able to say something you could tell your grandma about.) I'm reading Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert right now. I'm also working my way (SLOWLY) through the second Harry Potter book in español.

House is still for sale. 'Nuff said.

Off to watch last weeks ep of SPN. Still resisting the giant sucking vortex of that fandom though. :-)
revid: (Default)
Gosh, is it 8 January again?

Yep, it's my 3 year LJ-versary. And I so cannot imagine my life without it and YOU all in it.

It's also been forever since I posted. I'll start with the fandom related stuff first.

I'm continuing to get excited about the upcoming Green Day album. It's been mentioned on all the year-end here's-the music-coming-in-2009 reviews that I've read, but no one has a title or release date yet. The article in AP magazine did give some tentative song titles though, and some enterprising and clever web savvy geek took that information and ran with it. Over on GreenDayCommunity a newly registered poster looked up the web registrations of all the song titles from the article, then noted a whole slew of domain names registered on the same day by the same law firm.

So here's what we got from the AP article:

21st Century Breakdown
Know Your Enemy
Viva La Gloria
Before the Lobotomy
Christian's Inferno
Last Night on Earth
March of the Dogs

And here's what we got from our GDC sleuth.

21 Guns
My Drama Queen
Edge of the Earth
Last of the American Girls
American Eulogy
Little Drama Queen

Still no title though. Given Green Day's penchant for secrecy, it probably won't be released until it leaks (and I'm sure it will.) The sleuth thought it would be American Eulogy, but I really doubt it. I don't think they would name it so similarly to their last album.


In QaF/pretend boyfriend news, Gale Harold appears to be recovering from his near-fatal motorcycle accident, but his return to Desparate Housewives is still only hoped for. He is reported as saying that he would be returning to the set this month, but we've gotten no word that he actually has. We're all keeping our fingers crossed. The good news is on this past Sunday's episode there was a 10 second clip of his voice (on an answering machine) that was recorded after the accident. Of course, it's been made available to listen to over and over again...not that I'd ever do that. :-) http://www.gale-harold.it/audio/Jackson-voice-on-answering-machine.wav
(Thanks to www.gale-harold.it & [livejournal.com profile] buzziecat for finding it.) Some people have stated that they think it sounds like he was over-enunciating (as if he were having problems speaking) but I think that's WAAAAAAAY too much over analysis.

They are clearly setting up the plot so they can either keep him in or write him out as needed -- his character Jackson has been offered a job in a new town. But as someone pointed out, this particular episode was being filmed when he was still in the hospital, when the prognosis was still quite uncertain. I'm just soooo anxious to see him back again. In the meantime, I am spending far too much time reading 8 years of accumulated QaF fan fiction. Makes it difficult to explain when someone asks what books I've read lately.


I've been unable to completely resist the great sucking force that Supernatural seems to have on LJ, but only to the point where I enjoy the show, read the occasional fanfic, and look at pictures of pretty boys. I read about a major spoiler on a TV site and was chatting with [livejournal.com profile] and_ed about it a couple nights ago:

[21:57] [livejournal.com profile] and_ed: as I said to [livejournal.com profile] thelackey, there's a deplorable lack of brain cells in this fandom
[21:58] [livejournal.com profile] revid: Ahaha and extra helpings of batshit.
[21:58] [livejournal.com profile] and_ed: nah...its gonna be a weird fantasy/dream sequence/something
[21:58] [livejournal.com profile] and_ed: exactly
[22:00] [livejournal.com profile] and_ed: I don't understand why people can't just relax and enjoy the ride, man. They can't be enjoying themselves when they're having fucking coronaries over every little spoiler
[22:01] [livejournal.com profile] revid: Too much time on their hands.
[22:01] [livejournal.com profile] and_ed: I guess
[22:02] [livejournal.com profile] and_ed: [livejournal.com profile] thelackey said the stupidity is a result of all the porn. LOL Cause really...what does SPN fandom have in droves? Wank...and porn. More porn in this fandom than in anything else I've ever seen, too...and I come from a BOYBAND fandom.

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA


So in personal stuff...I spent Xmas in Colorado with my sister, which was quite pleasant. I'm trying to sell my house, which is not so pleasant. California real estate is just a blood bath for sellers these days. Great news if you're a buyer, in that home prices in San Francisco are down 30% in one year. Less fun if you're a seller. It's also a slow time of year, of course. Got some interest and showings, but no offers. Also, it's a giant pain in the butt keeping the house so freaking clean all the time. :-)

Not much other news. New job is OK. The cats turned 13 this month, they're OK (though not real thrilled about the strangers traipsing through their territory.) Weight, post holidays? Uh, not so good. Must.Start.Diet.

Hope you are all well.
revid: (Default)
So I see I'm not the only person on my flist who is going to have to learn to deal with two fandoms simultaneously.

In the last 24 hours I've received awesome squee-inducing news in each of my two favorite obsessions.

GREEN DAY IS BACK! GREEN DAY IS BACK! GREEN DAY IS BACK!

I won't bother reposting the scans from the AP Magazine interview since most of my flist has already done so, but they are available over at Green Day Authority.

It's so good to see you boys! I can't wait to hear your new CD and see you in concert again. It's been four and a half years since you released American Idiot, the album that changed my life. First it got me interested in music again, then the search for information about you and the CD led me to LiveJournal, which in turn led me to a whole universe of friends, and music, and experiences that I never would have had otherwise. (I had never even heard the word "fandom" 3 years ago!) I will love this band forever for this.

And on the Queer as Folk front:

Damn you Gale Harold! You are giving me emotional whiplash! I can't take it anymore. I don't care how freaking gorgeous you are, or what a brilliant actor you are, you must stop torturing me.

But this time it's good news! While Gale's injuries have forced him to be written out of Desperate Housewives, he is well enough to do some voice-over work for up-coming episodes (I'm guessing phone calls to Susan), so they really do intend to bring him back when he is able. If the whiplash could stop now that I am more optimistic again, that would be A Good Thing. So Gale, honey, do me a favor? Sell your fucking motorcycle, OK? THX

Now it's time for me to finish packing for my vacation tomorrow, and finish cleaning the house. Have I mentioned that moving suuuuuuucks?

Adios amigas!
revid: (Default)
So what's up with me, you might ask?

Or maybe not. But hey, feel free to skip.

I went up to San Francisco last weekend to look at homes. It was a pretty fruitful experience actually. I saw one or two homes that I could picture making offers on even. I feel comfortable with the agent I'm working with, which helps. (It was also nice to see Kat for about 30 seconds! ;-) )

Of course, buying a house in SF is wholly predicated on selling my current home. And it looks like it will be going up on the market this weekend. Which now has the crap scared out of me, to be frank. Some of it is related to time constraints, and some of it is related to the OMGWhatamIdoing seller's remorse type feelings. But really, I've been thinking about this for almost a year now, and none of the reasons that I want to move have changed. I love this house, but I need a change bad, and I just don't see it happening if I stay here. Some of the trepidation is also related to the general angst/trauma that's involved in moving, too. Moving sucks, folks. I am sooooo not looking forward to it.

The pleasant news (and the reason for my reference to time constraints) is that I'm leaving on Saturday for a week of scubadiving in Cozumel, Mexico. I'm going with a group of eight, one of whom has been to Coz something like 30+ times, so we'll be hitting all the good diving and eating spots, I'm sure. My RE agent thinks it's a great idea to have the home available over the holiday week for viewing to vacationers looking for a second home by the beach, so I have to get it ready to go before I leave! ARGH. So down comes the Green Day shrine on the fridge.

Speaking of Green Day....THERE'S NEWS! REAL, HONEST TO GOODNESS GREEN DAY NEWS! My God, what will we do? As I'm sure most of you have heard, The 9 December issue of AP will have an interview with GD where (theoretically) they will be talking about the new album due next year. Good God guys, four and a half years! Good thing you didn't rush into anything! But I promise, make it good and I will forgive you, OK? I've missed you.

The last thing that's been on my mind is not quite as good news. It appears that Gale Harold is being written out of Desperate Housewives due to the injuries he received in his motorcycle accident over a month ago. Last night's episode was his last, and of course, he was absolutely gorgeous and adorable. But they had to use a double for one scene (with his face conveniently not shown), which fooled exactly no one. I suppose it's theoretically possible that they could write him back in next season -- given Susan's unstable love life, it's not completely out of character -- but that may be wishful thinking. As I've opined here before, the real question is whether Gale's head injury is so serious that he'll be able to resume acting at all. The one positive piece of information that we received is that he was able to be discharged to home, rather than a TBI (traumatic brain injury) rehab center. However, I believe this will probably be the last thing we hear for a very long time. As dedicated as his fans are, Gale is hardly an A-lister, so no one else really cares, and Gale has never ever been terribly interested in publicity. Sigh.

Hope everyone is having a good week. Time for me to get back to getting the house in shape!
revid: (Default)
The latest word is that my pretend boyfriend Gale may be released from the hospital this Friday. I still won't exhale fully until I hear for sure that he's back at work. *crosses fingers and toes*

I'm really liking my new job. The nurses and staff are really nice (and they seem to like me!) It seems to alternate between Boring as Hell and OMGKillMeNow, but so far, so good.

I'm gonna take the plunge and put my house on the market in December. I'm already fighting off the twinges of seller's remorse, but when I look at all the reasons I have for moving vs. the reasons to stay, it's still no contest. I'm going to start looking for houses in San Francisco next month.

I know there's at least one synesthete on my flist. A friend of [livejournal.com profile] cleolinda is looking for synesthetes for an online survey. I'm not, but I sorta wish I were. It seems kind of neat.

Don't forget to vote next Tuesday, those of you that live south of the 49th parallel.

This video is pretty funny:



Maybe we should all move to Canada either way! :-)

Everyone have a happy and safe Halloween!

April 2012

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 12:25 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios